Music – Archive of Comments

Finnish poet Johan Ludvig Runeberg, 1804-1877

Sibelius, Jan: Melodramas: Näcken (1888); O, om du sett (1888); Ett ensamt skidspår (1925); Svartsjunkans nätter (1893). A form interestingly set, with the beauty of Swedish language to assist. Easily the most interesting is Svartsjunkans nätter, on a text of Johan Ludvig Runeberg, set for recitation, soprano, and piano trio.



Sibelius:, Jan: Piano Quintet in g; Vivace in g; Andante-Allegro (1888-90) – The quintet, and related compositions, mostly quite dull; lots of sound with too little music. The finale of the finished quintet is the most interesting, in part because of the instrumental effects.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s