Hendrik Slegtenhorst – Author & Executive

Hendrik Slegtenhorst is a Canadian author and executive specializing in local government, culture, heritage, and higher education. He has published Caravaggio’s Dagger (Iguana, Toronto, 2013) and over 100 works in established literary publications and as a newspaper columnist on local government.

He is a director of the Executive Planning Council of the Professional Arts Coalition of Edmonton, and the chair of its advocacy committee. He also serves as vice-president and workshop coordinator on the board of Edmonton’s Stroll of Poets’ Society; and has served as president, vice-president, and treasurer of the Federation of British Columbia Writers, at Vancouver, British Columbia, and as as a member-at-large and interim programme chair of the board of the Alberta Branch of the Canadian Authors’ Association, at Edmonton, Alberta.

Banff, Alberta. 26 December 2010. (Photo: Gloria Steel)

Banff, Alberta. 26 December 2010. (Photo: Gloria Steel)

He has served as the chief administrative officer to municipalities in New Brunswick, British Columbia, and Alberta. He is a former executive director of the Museum of Vancouver; and has held many senior appointments in post-secondary adult education, including that of director of administration and planning at York University’s Atkinson College, registrar of The Banff Centre, and registrar of Alberta’s Athabasca University.

He is the co-owner of Falstaff Enterprises, which, since 1991, has promoted his consultative work in local government and heritage preservation, his writing, editing, delivery of workshops and seminars, and his teaching of international trade.

Crack house demolition, St. Stephen New Brunswick

The morning I had the crack house on Green Street demolished for Linda Noel, the long-suffering neighbour next to it. St. Stephen, New Brunswick. 7 October 2008.

His focus is on the promotion of community identity and aspirations, and on the realization of community needs. His professional experience extends across:

  • executive management of local government and heritage institutions;
  • board directorships in community development;
  • extensive participation in cultural and artistic associations and organizations;
  • his activities as a professional writer, columnist, and editor;
  • senior management in higher education;
  • corporate appointments in project management, information technology, human resources, compensation, and training at transnationals; and,
  • accreditation as an award-winning Certified International Trade Professional (CITP).
At Dinosaur Provincial Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, near Brooks, Alberta, 14 July 2012 (Photo: Gloria Steel)

At Dinosaur Provincial Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, near Brooks, Alberta, 14 July 2012 (Photo: Gloria Steel)

By design, he has lived and worked in Canada’s six largest cities—OttawaMontréalEdmontonCalgaryToronto, and Vancouver—, many of the country’s smaller communities, and all regions of Canada except the far north. He has travelled extensively throughout Canada, some years in excess of 100,000 kilometres. He has as well travelled and worked in the United States, in 37 of the states; Europe, in 11 of its nations; and, Africa, in 5 of its countries. He resides in Edmonton, Alberta.

About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s